Let’s Practice a Tombé

Hi!  Welcome back to my blog.

Today we’re going to learn about the ballet step called “tombé”.

Tombé means “fallen” and that’s kinda what we do in this movement as long as we don’t fall all the way over!

Below is the definition of tombé from Vance’s Ballet Dictionary:

“A movement in which the dancer extends the working leg and falls onto it in plié.”

I couldn’t find any good pictures of a dancer performing a tombé but I did find a video that I think will help us as we try to learn how to do this step.

After I practice the tombé, I’m going to color the picture below.

Ask your mom or dad to print it out for you.

I know you remembered to say ‘please” and “thank you”.

I hope  you’ll come back next week when we’ll talk about more ballet steps.

See you then!

You can subscribe to my blog if you’d like and your mom and dad say it’s okay.  Just click on the “subscribe” button in the right-hand column near the top of the page and fill out the form.  You’ll get each new blog post right in your email inbox.

xoxoxo,

MilliMouse

(Millicent’s blog is sponsored by the Exercise Equipment Super Store and the Healing Tai Chi Store)

One thought on “Let’s Practice a Tombé

  1. Pingback: Your Questions About Ballet Picture Books | Ballet Class Music by Composer/Pianist Don Caron

Leave a Reply

