What is a Pas de Chat?

Hi!  Welcome back to my blog.

I’m happy to see you again.

Today we’re going to learn about the ballet step called “pas de chat”.

The term means “step of the cat”.   Cats…yuk!

Anyway, below is the definition of this step from Vance’s Ballet Dictionary:

“A jump. Leap off the left leg, starting from a plié and raising the right leg into retiré. In midair, raise the left leg into retiré, too, so your legs form a diamond shape in the air. Land on the right leg with the left leg still in retiré; then bring it down, landing in another plié. In the famous dance in Swan Lake in which the four cygnets dance with interlaced arms, they do sixteen pas de chat. “

pas de chat

Above is a drawing of the step by step movements of the pas de chat.

Below is a video showing each part of the pas de chat.  I think you’ll understand the step better after you watch it.

http://www.videojug.com/film/how-to-do-a-pas-de-chat

I’m going to try doing a pas de chat.

After I practice my new step, I’m going to ask my mom (or dad) to print out the picture below so I can color it.

Please click on the link below to open the picture:

http://national.ballet.ca/pdf/education/fourseasonsColouringSheet.pdf

I know you remembered to say “please” and “thank you”.

I hope you’ll come back next week when we’ll talk about more ballet steps.

See you then.

An article for your mom or dad:  

http://eauclaireschoolofdance.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/dance-shoe-reviews-top-5-best-tap-shoes/

You can subscribe to my blog if you’d like and your mom and dad say it’s okay.  Just click on the “subscribe” button in the right-hand column near the top of the page and fill out the form.  You’ll get each new blog post right in your email inbox.

xoxoxo,

MilliMouse

Leave a Reply

