What is a Détourné?

Hi!  Welcome back to my blog.

I’m happy to see you again.

Today we’re going to learn what a détourné (deh-toor-neh) is.

Vance’s Fantastic Ballet Dictionary defines it this way: “A smooth turn made by pivoting on the toes in relevé.”

Below is a funny drawing of stick figures to show how the turn is done:

 We would probably first learn how to do a détourné in the center of the room.

While I was looking for a video of students practicing détournés, I found one of boys and girls doing much more difficult combinations of steps in the center of their practice room.  I like watching it.  I hope you will, too.

These students are much older and a lot more advanced than I am but someday I sure hope I can dance like they do!

Below is a funny ballet picture for us to color after we finish practicing our ballet steps.

Ask your mom or dad to print out the picture for you.  I know you remembered to say “please” and “thank you”.

I hope  you’ll be able to come back next week.  See you then.

You can subscribe to my blog if you’d like and your mom and dad say it’s okay.  Just click on the “subscribe” button in the right-hand column near the top of the page and fill out the form.  You’ll get each new blog post right in your email inbox.

xoxoxo,

MilliMouse

( Millicent Mouse is sponsored by the Exercise Equipment Super Store and the Healing Tai Chi Store)

3 thoughts on “What is a Détourné?

  1. Pingback: Your Questions About Ballet Pictures To Print | Ballet Class Music

  2. Pingback: Your Questions About Ballet Class Music - Ballet Class Music

  3. Pingback: Your Questions About Ballet - Ballet Class Music

Leave a Reply

