Let’s Review the Arabesque

Hi!  Welcome back to my blog.

 

Today we’re going to talk about the arabesque.

An arabesque is a pose in ballet where one leg is extended to the back and off the floor.  At the beginning, most dancers can’t get their legs very high off the floor but with practice, the muscles stretch out and we can get our legs higher and higher.

Here is what an arabesque should look like:

 

This lady is a professional dancer and has studied ballet for many years.  If we practice hard enough, someday we’ll be able to do a beautiful arabesque like she is doing in the picture.

 

I found a good video of the proper way to do an arabesque:

 

 Here’s a picture for you to color:

 

Ask your mom or dad to print out the picture for you.  I know you remembered to say “please” and “thank you”, didn’t you? 

 

This is the link to these beautiful pictures to color if you would like to look through them and buy the coloring book or run off the free pictures.  There are many different categories I think you will like.  I love them!

http://coloring-nicole.blogspot.com/2008/03/ballerina-primavera-coloring-pages.html

 

I’m going to go practice my arabesque.  I hope you’ll come back to see me next week.  See you then.

 

 

xoxoxo,

MilliMouse

Leave a Reply

