A Child’s Memorial Day Poem

Memorial Day
© 2001 Tim F., 3rd Grader, Academy Elementary School, Madison, Connecticut.
I think about the people that fought in the wars,
some have died to keep us free.

I think about the men and women,
Who saved lives on land and at sea.

I look at the monuments,
In memory of the brave.

I help plant red flowers
At my grandfather’s grave.

At the parade, I see flags flying,
Red, white and blue.

I watch rows of different uniforms,
Navy, white and brown too.

The soldiers salute with pride.

Memorial Day remembers and honors
those who have died.

I’ll be back next week with more ballet steps, videos and pictures to color.  See you then.

xoxoxo,

MilliMouse

Leave a Reply

